The Maze Runner

Hello again, friends!

Welcome to my second post and my first book review. I’ve got to be honest before I start, though, and warn you that I haven’t really read any book reviews on other blogs. If there’s a set standard or expectation, I likely won’t meet it. However, what you’re about to read below will be my very own standard: some personal thoughts and zero spoilers. ‘Cause I freaking hate spoilers (it’s actually why I don’t like to read book reviews).

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, let’s jump right into The Maze Runner:

The Maze Runner starts slow

Before reading this book, I saw the trailers and previews for the movie adaptation. They’re actually what piqued my interest and made me want to read this series in the first place. I was so excited to read about Thomas rushing into The Maze just as the doors were closing, just barely escaping by an inch. I came into this book seeking that action packed adrenaline rush. And boy, did that happen, but not until page 112. That’s right, folks. One-hundred twelve pages until we get to the scene in the movie trailer that enticed me to read the book. That’s nearly two hours of my life spent on Thomas looking for answers and not really getting much information.

So for me personally, I was bored out of my mind for two hours. I’m the kind of reader that likes to jump into the midst of action and find out what’s happening along the way. This book just didn’t hit that mark for me, and actually does the opposite – it gives a bunch of explaining and world building first, and then gives the action.

IMG_2741
I caught a Squirtle while reading!

Emotions are Real

Okay friends, now let me tell you what I absolutely LOVED about this book! I almost squealed every time it happened. The boys in this story cry. And I’m not just talking about a little tear. I mean they outright cry or sob, without ever bothering to go hide in a corner first. These boys have real emotions, and they have these emotions in front of the other boys. Sometimes, they even have deep conversations that openly admit to being overwhelmed with life. And do you know why this is my favorite? Because not once do the other boys condescend the one crying. No one is called a sissy, or worse, a girl, for expressing themselves. No one is told to grow up or to be a man. Instead, moments are had, tensions are released, and conversations continue. Male emotions are given validity.

I Learned a Thing

The first half of this book trudged on for me, though the second half really took off… running (ha. ha.) I think I was too hyped on up the movie trailer to actually enjoy the reading experience during that first half. And I really didn’t want to DNF this book, since my husband had already read it, and I needed it to earn my Boulder Badge for #ReadThemAllThon. So to power through the second half of The Maze Runner, I decided to put on my headphones and listen to the movie adaptation’s soundtrack. Friends, it worked! I blazed through the last 156 pages in one sitting thanks to the score. It was glorious! One hundred percent would recommend. And if your current read doesn’t have a movie, listen to some music from a movie in the same genre. It’ll change your reading game, for sure!

Final Thoughts

I’m actually not sure if I want to give you my rating for this book. It’s on my Goodreads if you really want to know, but I don’t think it actually fits me and my style of blogging to type it out here. I know, I know, this is only my second post, but I do know what kind of book reviews I wish I could read, yet see rarely. I mentioned that I don’t read book reviews, and while it’s mostly due to spoilers, it’s also because I like to form my own opinions on stories. If I see someone else rate a book with x stars, that will automatically become my expectation of it. I go in to books with the most blank slate possible, and when I say “blank slate,” I mean that I typically don’t even read a book synopsis. I simply like to know the genre, the super short “twitter version” of the plot, and possibly hear one person tell me that they like it.

So for that reason, my final review is simply this: I enjoyed this book once the action picked up, though it took a minute to get there, I will definitely be picking up the sequel.


#ReadThemAllThon Update

blog1

I feel like this book took forever for me to finish. BUT I’ve finally earned my Boulder Badge for reading the first book of a series! Yay me! And on that note, I’ve earned enough CP for my little baby Chimchar to evolve into Monferno!

Ash_Monferno

Monferno and I are super duper excited to head to Cerulean City and Wonder at its beauty.

5 thoughts on “The Maze Runner

  1. You did a great job! Of COURSE there isn’t any set expectation for reviews. If you’ve ever seen any of mine, they’re all over the place, mostly with no structure and sometimes different rating scales. XD
    I totally understand what you mean! I had a really hard time with the Maze Runner; I saw the movie first (I have no idea why, I’ve only done that a couple of times) and did not expect the draggy beginning.
    And hey, you can always make up your own rating scale; it could even just be words! Whatever works for you. 🙂
    -Amy

    Like

  2. I completely agree with Amy. It’s your blog so do whatever you are comfortable with in terms of reviews or posts. Mine are also all over the place and even 8 months into my blog, I still haven’t firmly cemented what my personal style is going to be. This is a great review though in my opinion. I care more about your experience reading it and how it made you feel, and you conveyed that perfectly. =)

    Like

    1. Oh, awesome! Thank you so much for letting me know. I was super nervous about posting this, but I’m really glad you enjoyed reading it. I’m actually about to write another review, and I have a feeling it’s going to sound very different from this one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

