Fangirl

It took me a week to read, but I made it through Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell! This post won’t be very long, and is more of an update than a review, but I wanted to tell everyone that I liked it.

16068905

You’ll here me say this a lot, I’m sure, but I’m not a big contemporary fan. If I was a bigger fan of the genre, I likely would have given this book top stars, as I really did enjoy it. And I’m actually in love with the fact that this book involves a blossoming romance, and isn’t a hot-and-heavy sort of story that tries to give me love without any context.

These characters are lovable, relatable, and feel like real people. I would definitely have a mega crush on Levi in real life, he’s absolutely adorable!

But as I’m not much of a contemporary reader, I found myself wanting to put this book down – so I could read Carry On instead. I was way more engaged with the lives of Simon and Baz than I was with Cath and Levi. But that’s just me. I found snippets of fantasy and held on to them for dear life.

Final Thoughts

This book was adorable. Like really, really cute. I would totally read a novel about Cath’s sophomore year, and probably her junior and senior years too. And I wouldn’t mind owning the pink and yellow special editions of this book. They might end up on my wish list soon.

blog3

#ReadThemAllThon Update

With this week long excursion through Fangirl, I’ve earned my Thunder Badge! Did it live up to the thunderous hype? For me, yeah. I guess. Sorry. I’m really bad at reviewing this genre. It was a really good book, beautifully written, and I want to read a sequel, but it didn’t change my life.

I’m super glad I read it, though, because now I’ve super hyped myself up for Carry On. Luckily, Monferno (384CP) and I are heading straight to Celadon City to read it. I’m so pumped!

Ash_Monferno

See you soon, by WordPress user MagiDominique 2016

4 thoughts on “Fangirl

  1. I’m with you on not being a big fan of contemporary, even though I’m a Rainbow Rowell fangirl. No pun intended. lol You are going to LOVE Carry On. It’s everything that I’ve come to expect and love from a Rainbow Rowell novel, BUT WITH MAGIC AND VAMPIRES AND ALL THAT GOOD STUFF (fantasy is my favorite genre too in case that wasn’t clear). Enjoy and I can’t wait to see your final thoughts.

    Like

  2. Fangirl’s on my TBR, but I always seem to find something else that interests me more. I’m going to read it someday, but maybe my next reading challenge will include it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

