#DAReadAThon TBR

It’s time to join Aentee again for another great readathon adventure! All graphics used in this post were created by Aentee for the #DAReadAThon.

So before we get into the TBR, let’s talk about the readathon itself. Dumbledore’s Army ReadAThon takes place January 1-15, 2017, and focuses on diverse reads, especially those that are #OwnVoices. There are seven reading challenges based on spells in the wizarding world, and we earn House Points for our reading accomplishments! Here’s my house card:

ravenclawcard

As an additional challenge for myself, I’m going to read books that are already on my bookshelf (rather than going hunting for books at the library). The one exception would be Crooked Kingdom, since that one’s already checked out, so technically it IS already on my self. Now, here’s the TBR!

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

My favorite thing to do with books is to read them without knowing much of anything about them (crazy, I know). So I’m not 100% positive if this book features diverse characters, but I *do* know that the author is part of the LGBTA+ community. So, for the expecto patronum challenge, I’ll be reading The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. The personal issue it features is feeling like a bystander in a world of heroes. Watching other people do great and amazing things while you’re just ordinary, and as an extension, unwanted. But, as the book jacket says, “sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.”

da-readathon-expelliarmus

Soundless by Richelle Mead is a story based in Chinese folklore, and I don’t recall reading anything inspired by Chinese culture before. I’m excited to jump in to this story, as I’ve heard good things.

da-readathon-protego

Oh, oh, I am so excited for this one! The Blazing Star by Imani Josey released this month and it was like a Christmas present to myself. I didn’t have time to read it in December, but I’ve kept it displayed on my desk like a decoration, just waiting for a chance to read it.

da-readathon-reducto

I’ve never read the whole of The Stories of Eva Luna by Isabel Allende, but with what I remember from the bits I read in high school, there were lots of different women doing lots of awesome things. The book blurb looks promising as well:

“Interweaving the real and the magical, she explores love, vengeance, compassion, and the strengths of women, creating a world that is at once poignantly familiar and intriguingly new.”

This book has been on my TBR about as long as the book in the next category, so I’m happy to finally give it another chance.

dareadathon-impedimenta

I have had The Chosen by Chaim Potok on my shelf for about ten years and haven’t ever read more than the first chapter. I’m going to fix that, especially since one of my friends just told me this is a great read by one of her favorite authors.

dareadathon-stupefy

This book is still in the mail, or actually, I don’t think it’s shipped yet, but the book universe is exploding with praise for More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. I’m hoping it’s as amazing as every says!

dareadthon-lumos

Every one recommends the Six of Crows duology by Leigh Bardugo, and I haven’t gotten to Crooked Kingdom yet. My feels are prepared. Let’s do this!

signature

5 thoughts on “#DAReadAThon TBR

  1. More Happy Than Not is amazing, I really hope you enjoy it! And I’ve heard so many good things about The Rest of Us Just Live Here, and Six of Crows. Hopefully I can get to both of those soon. I better go sign up for this readathon too, since I plan to be doing a lot of diverse reading anyway 🙂 Why not add an extra challenge?
    (commenting from #eotybh chat)

    Like

  2. I’m not joining this challenge but my support is on Ravenclaw because duh..house pride!! SO GO YOU AND OTHER RAVENCLAWS, SLAY THIS CHALLENGE! Hope you’ll enjoy all these books, and I support you on reading more diverse books. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

