Why 2016 Was Actually Fabulous

We all have an extensive laundry list of why 2016 totally sucked, myself included. But I don’t want to look back ten years from now and say “everything about that year was horrible.” I mean, I’ve got two small children. In 2016 my daughter turned 3 and my son learned how to walk and talk. Well… by talk I mean not just babble and grunt. But still. Good things happened in my life and I want to remember them. So without further ado, ten wonderful things that I lived through in 2016:

  • Gymnastics
    • My little girl watched the Olympics for the first time in her life, and soon afterwards joined her first gymnastics class. It’s her favorite thing ever and she is always asking me if tomorrow is gymnastics day.
  • Schwab
    • I took a book recommenation and listened to my first audiobook. That audiobook just happened to be A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab. A single book has never become my favorite so quickly, and I haven’t stopped recommending to people it all year.
  • Parnassus
    • There’s an independent bookstore in my town. And they have shop dogs. And I’m in love.
  • GeekyCon
    • My first con! With my best friends! Back home in Florida! In a Rainbow Dash cosplay!
  • House
    • The dude man and I bought our first home and I guess that officially makes me an adult. There’s no denying it anymore.
  • Bookstagram
    • I discovered the book community! I created a bookstagram to participate in a book photo challenge, and realized that there was an entire group of people doing the same thing. After that, I created a book twitter and this blog.
  • Movies
    • I have never seen so many movies in the theatre in a single year (Civil War, Dr. Strange, Fantastic Beasts, Rouge One, Moana), not even when I worked in a move theatre! I also discovered that going to the movies on my own is pretty therapeutic.
  • Owlcrate
    • Book subscriptions boxes are a thing, guys. I’m shook.
  • Tattoos
    • Simba and the way to Neverland. Both on my skin forever. My first two of many, I’m sure.
  • Hamilton
    • How lucky I am to be alive right now!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

signature

10 thoughts on “Why 2016 Was Actually Fabulous

  1. Yes to indie bookstores and bookstagram. I can stare at books in real life or on my phone for hours… 🙂 I still have some mixed feelings about audiobooks, but I’m warming up to them, especially audiobook memoirs. My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

