Wayfarer: The Musical Debut

Bookish Musicals is a meme hosted here, on Pirates and Pixie Dust. Anyone is welcome to join!


Something strange happens when you’re currently reading a book that features a ship on the cover and listening to a movie soundtrack that takes place on the water…

You mix them together.

This is probably the most hilarious thing in my life right now, but friends. I can’t believe my brain is doing this to me!

97814847157651I’m reading Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken right now, and there is a gold foil pirate (privateer?) ship on the cover, underneath the dust jacket.

At the moment, my children are obsessed with the Moana soundtrack and have been asking me to play it almost nonstop (picture an almost two year old screaming at the top of his lungs “GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” and you have my house on the daily).

And now, well. Oops? I sort of got Tamatoa’s voice stuck in my head. Now every time the song Shiny comes on, I’m picturing Cyrus Ironwood singing it. I’m half ashamed and half impressed with my brain for this connection.

So without further ado, the Tamatoa Ironwood song:

I’m laughing so hard right now! Brain, why do you do this to me!? It’s probably because both characters are super greedy and like to hoard gold. Oh, well. 😛


What are you currently reading? Could you turn it into a musical number?

This is the official Master Post for #BookishMusicals Week 1. Be sure to leave the link to your post in the comments so we can all blog hop later!

signature

Leave a Reply

