Wayfarer

I’ve read my first sci-fi novel of 2017! *throws confetti* And it was about time travel! *more confetti*

I was so highly anticipating this book, and was, unfortunately, a tad underwhelmed. This is already the second time this year (it’s still January!) when book two of the duology didn’t make the cut for me. Maybe I’m just in a reading funk or something. I keep getting bored around the 300 page mark this year, so I’m going to try to read a shorter book next (aka, less than 500+ pages).

The Goods

Even though I’m not rating Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken as high as I would like, there were still elements that made this book pretty cool.

 

For one, we get action in the prologue (finally! something is happening immediately to keep me on my toes!). And for two, I learned a bit of history, namely that the Tzar died in 1918 and the monarchy with him. This flash of info sent me on a Google spree and I had a mini history lesson on the Romanov family.

Wayfarer is filled with feels, especially if you’ve fallen in love with the characters during the first book. There were an awful lot of happy tears and flailing and shipping going on while I read this book. I was almost ashamed of myself for being so heavily invested in characters I don’t even like *ahem* (Etta). —— I loved her in Passenger. What happened?!

The Greats

I was presently surprised to find more diversity that just Nicholas Carter (a POC MC) in this book. Several characters were part of the LGBT+ community, including a character in a major supporting role, who also struggles with the lost of an eye. Though we don’t get to read from this character’s perspective, we do see her frustrations and growth/acceptance throughout the novel.

At one point in the story, Etta is with a white male character when they come across segregation in mid-1900s New York. He wonders aloud why people could be left outside without medical care while there are empty cots inside the tent. Etta responds, “The same reason you *spoilers*” and his response to her is “That’s not true!” I love what was said next, and I believe this shows more of who the author is than Etta:

She wondered if his privilege had made him blind to other’s suffering in his travels, or if maybe it took something of this magnitude to shatter that shield of self-righteousness that being white and male and wealthy had always provided him with.

This one sentence was so relevant to today, I almost threw the book for being too accurate. Alexandra ain’t playing.

The Greatest

Oh my word, friends. Nicholas Carter. And his story line, and all the spoilery things I wish I could say! Please, please, please gush with me, somebody? Oh my word! Yes. Just, yes.



PS. Shout out to The Melting Library for this perfection in soy wax Nicholas Carter candle. *refreshes page to see if full size restock has happened yet*

signature

 

2 thoughts on “Wayfarer

  1. Oh I’m glad you still mostly liked this one! And YES I love that line you quoted. That’s very important and totally cool that the author is speaking up about that within her books too. :’) I didn’t actually reeeally like Passenger, so I probably won’t be reading this. But I’m glad you love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

