Pride and Prejudice

Ew. “Poetry is the food of love”

*insert massive eye roll*

Wait, wait… That’s not why we’re here? Oh, okay. Fine. I guess I’ll refrain from laughing at the language and romancing of the early 1800s.


Pride and Prejudice is my first Jane Austen novel. My friends have been hounding me for years to read the thing (since I refuse to watch the thing when I haven’t read the thing) and I finally obliged.

I’ve attempted to read this book several times before. It’s been checked out of the library, it’s been downloaded onto my Kindle, and it’s even been purchased from the bookstore. But guess what? The best way to read a classic from a genre you don’t even like is with an audiobook. It’s 100000x better than reading. Have I discovered my new way to read classics? Because I wasted a month of my life last year hating on / reading Dorian Grey, but I only spent 13 hours hating Collins. This could become a thing, guys.

Thoughts

Meh. It was cute. I half enjoyed it. They talked too much.

If I wasn’t looking forward to Darcy’s second proposal, I probably would have DNFed it. But both the real life friends and the internet friends love this story. I mean, one of my friends named her kid after a character in this book. But… this was just not my jam. I can see why so many people call this book a favorite, and maybe I’ll enjoy one of the movies, but with all talk (literally) and no action, this book was a dud for me.

BUT!

 

I made a twitter thread in real time as I listened. *spoiler warning* If you’ve already love the classic, you’ll probably love seeing the reactions from a newbie:

 Then & Again

I read this book as part of the Then & Again challenge hosted by my friend Ruth.

buttonFor the again portion of this challenge, I started watching The Lizzie Bennett Diaries on YouTube.

I’m only six episodes in, but so far it’s made me laugh out loud, so it’s got my stamp of approval. I’m looking forward to watching the rest of the series!


Have you read this book yet? If not, let me know! I’m know I can’t be the last person in the world to have read this classic!

signature

5 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice

  1. It is rare for me to see someone admit they didn’t enjoy Jane Austen! I enjoy the dialogue a lot because it’s very clever and very witty. Perhaps a movie version would highlight this more? I think the BBC mini series and the Keira Knightley version are both excellent in their own ways.

    Like

    1. I’m enjoying the webseries because it’s more witty than romance. But even in movies, any sort of rom com isn’t really my thing. I’m a fantasy and scifi fan through and through. And even then, I need more action than dialogue to enjoy a novel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

