Books That Cured My Winter Blues

Oh, my goodness gracious! Where did I go?

Honestly, I have no idea. Apparently I needed to go on an unannounced, unintentional hiatus for a month and a half. But I’m back now, friends!

As an update, I would love to type up every review I missed. And that’s…. a lot. Since I posted my Pride and Prejudice review, I’ve read twenty-three books. No, seriously. 23! I’ll make a list of them at the end of this post. Actually, I’ll make a list of ALL of my winter reads, since that’s what this post is about.

wp-image-1544951381jpg.jpg
A winter post! A book in the snow!

I got this wonderful post idea from Super Space Chick, whose latest video inspired me to share my favorite winter reads. Winter for me begins on the Solstice (not December 1st), and spring has just begun this week! It’s the perfect time for this wrap up!

Top Five Winter 2017 Reads

9781484723241
Amazon | IndieBound | Space opera that reminded me of Firefly and gave me all the feels.
9780765376459
Amazon | IndieBound | A reread of my fave that made it on the top of my list… Again.
9780062360243
Amazon | IndieBound | DRAGONS. There were dragons. And this book made me cry at least three times.
9781481463331
Amazon | IndieBound | Incredible. #OwnVoices. Would recommend to everybody.
9781338053845
Amazon | IndieBound | This is the kind of book that made me a reader in the first place. Great middle grade!

Every Single Winter 2017 Read (in reading order)

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling
  2. The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket
  3. The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket
  4. The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket
  5. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
  6. Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
  7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  8. Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken
  9. Jackaby by William Ritter
  10. Creed by Adam Hamilton
  11. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
  12. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Sáenz Alire
  13. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
  14. Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  15. Starflight by Melissa Landers
  16. Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman
  17. A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab
  18. Rebel of the Sands by Alywn Hamilton
  19. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
  20. The Shadow Queen by CJ Redwine
  21. Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza
  22. By Your Side by Kasie West
  23. The Valiant by Leslie Livingston
  24. Kindred by Octavia E Butler
  25. A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab
  26. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
  27. Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  28. All-American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
  29. Ronit & Jamil by Pamela Laskin
  30. March by John Robert Lewis
  31. Scar Island by Dan Gemeinhart
  32. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

That was intense

*checks self to make sure I’m human*

I guess not stopping to review books means I have more time to actually read the books. That, or I’m just…

 totally-awesome

If you’ve read books on this list, tell me what you thought of them. There are a few that I just didn’t like, but that’s for a different post, of course.

Of this list, what would you put as the top five?

Thanks for sticking with me through that random hiatus, friends.

signature

5 thoughts on “Books That Cured My Winter Blues

  1. Seems like you had a great time reading time this Winter! 🙂 I adore V.E. Schwab’s books so re-reading the first two and then moving onto A Conjuring of Light was probably my favourite reading experience in the last month or so. And Crooked Kingdom was definitely one of my favourite reads last year.

    I recently bought The Girl From Everywhere because I just spotted it in a Kindle sale and I’m really looking forward to it. And I couldn’t resist buying Caraval when it was released because of the beautiful cover and pretty damn persuasive marketing buzz but now I’m hearing mostly mixed reviews of it so I’m a bit more hesitant about picking it up.

    Also A+ gif use, gotta love a bit of AVPM!

    Like

      1. Aah, I look forward to reading your review then. Having seen other reviews of Caraval I am starting to get the impression it has a few problems so I’ll be going into it with some apprehension.

        Like

Leave a Reply

