Mid-Year Book Freak Out

Happy mid-way through the year! Since it’s July 2nd, it’s totally official. I discovered this tag on Jesse‘s channel, but it was originally created by Chami and Ely. So let’s do this!

Best book you’ve read so far in 2017

This question is wrong. And rude. I can’t pick just one! I think I’ll go with Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo, though.

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017

Well, A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab. Obviously!

New release you haven’t read yet, but want to

Definitely gonna go with When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon for this one. The anticipation is real!

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Chillin’ with my girl Leigh Bardugo again. Wonder Woman: Warbringer is gonna be epic, I can feel it!

Biggest disappointment

Oh, Caraval by Stephanie Garber, 100%. I never wrote my review for this one because I was so upset, but I did make a twitter thread, if you’re interested in that. This book needed some serious trigger warnings.

Biggest surprise

Oh my goodness, definitely The Shadow Queen by CJ Redwine. Oh. My. Gosh. This book was seriously everything I love in a novel and everything I needed to read at the time. I went into this book completely blind, as they say. All I knew about it was that it was a Snow White retelling. But man, was it so much more for me!

Favourite new author (Debut or new to you)

ANGIE THOMAS. If you haven’t read The Hate U Give, go pick it up now. The content, the voice, the pacing. Oh my word, Angie Thomas’ debut novel is a best-seller for a reason, people!

Newest fictional crush

I don’t have one? Not like… a person, anyway. But I am in freaking love with Kell’s coat from the Shades of Magic series. (sneak peek: a post about that is planned for the end of the month)

Newest favourite character

I reeeeeeeally like Iseult from Susan Dennard’s Truthwitch. I seriously need to pick up the second novel before this year is up. Iseult was giving me some Esmeralda vibes and I loved it.

Book that made you cry

Both Crooked Kingdom and A Conjuring of Light. AND The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. And also, The Hate U Give.

Book that made you happy

Other than my Harry Potter re-reads of the first two books, discovering Starflight by Melissa Landers was a delight. The setting reminded me of Firefly and I really enjoyed living that sci-fi in the stars life.

Favourite book to film adaptation you saw this year

Does Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them count as an adaptation? Or Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2? Because I loved them both.

Favourite review you’ve written this year

Actually, I particularly enjoyed my live review of Pride and Prejudice. I included it in my review, which you can find here.

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received)

The Hogwarts Library set is gorgeous!

What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

ALL OF THEM. But I’ll just list the books I own and would love to get to (there are re-reads on this list as well). Most of these books have been either bought or received since January:

  • 56: Joe DiMaggio and the Last Magic Number in Sports by Kostya Kennedy
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • Allie and Bea by Catherine Ryan Hyde (e-book)
  • The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket
  • Black Belt Bunny by Jacky Davis (illustrated by Jay Fleck)
  • Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman (arc)
  • The Blazing Star by Imani Josey
  • Blood Rose by Danielle Rose
  • The Breaking Light by Heather Hansen
  • Broke Millennial by Erin Lowry
  • Chameleon Moon by RoAnna Sylver (e-book)
  • Chemistry by Weike Wang
  • The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau
  • The Color Project by Sierra Abrams (arc)
  • A Conjuring of Light by VE Schwab
  • The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  • Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller
  • Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray
  • Doctor Who: The Complete History, Vol 56 edited by Mark Wright
  • Dragon Marked by Jaymin Eve (e-book)
  • First Year by Rachel E Carter (e-book)
  • Four by Veronica Roth
  • The Friendship Code by Stacia Deutsch (arc)
  • A Gathering of Shadows by VE Schwab
  • Girls Who Code by Reshma Saujani (arc)
  • Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
  • Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
  • The Great Treehouse War by Lisa Graff
  • Hamster Princess: Giant Trouble by Ursula Vernon
  • Hamster Princess: Harriet the Invincible by Ursula Vernon
  • Hamster Princess: Of Mice and Magic by Ursula Vernon
  • Hamster Princess: Ratpunzel by Ursula Vernon
  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by JK Rowling (Gyffindor House)
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling (illustrated by Jim Kay)
  • Hello World by Tiffany Rose and Alexandra Tauber (e-book)
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • Hunted by Megan Spooner (e-book)
  • Into the Water by Paula Hawkins
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke (e-book)
  • Kids of Appetite by David Arnold
  • The Leavers by Lisa Ko
  • Letters from Father Christmas by JRR Tolkien (e-book)
  • Libromancer by Jim C Hines
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel (e-book)
  • The Lioness of Morocco by Julia Drosten (e-book)
  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
  • Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian
  • The Merciless II by Danielle Vega
  • The Merciless III by Danielle Vega
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (illustrated by Jim Kay)
  • More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
  • A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan
  • Never Again So Close by Claudia Serrano (e-book)
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • Non-Heir by Rachel E Carter (e-book)
  • Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst
  • Off to Be the Wizard by Scott Meyer (ANIMATED e-book)
  • Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab
  • Paddington Goes to Town by Michael Bond
  • The Paper Magician by Charlie N Holmberg (e-book)
  • People of the Second Chance by Mike Foster
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  • Rise of Fire by Sophie Jordan
  • Rise of the Sea Witch by Stacey Rourke
  • Robin: Lady of Legend by RM Arcejaeger
  • Roseblood by AG Howard
  • Runtime by RoAnna Sylver (e-book)
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • Stillhouse Lake by Rachel Caine (e-book)
  • Stitching Snow by RC Lewis
  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard notes by Professor Albus Dumbledore
  • Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee
  • This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee (e-book)
  • Timebound by Rysa Walker (e-book)
  • Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell
  • Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown (e-book)
  • Vanishing Point by Michael Roessner (e-book)
  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Now, I’m guessing you either read that extensive beast or simply scrolled through it. Either way, remember yesterday when I said that if my TBR fell over it would break my toe? Well, I’m gonna amend that I say it would break my shin. Because seriously. This is ridiculous. not listed are all of the books acquired prior to 2017 that I still haven’t read


Also, friends. I…. um. Well. I’ve also got 20 books checked out from the library right now.

I’d like to know: Do any of you have a TBR as cumbersome as mine? I should probs just rename my shelves “Everest” at this point.

signature

8 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out

  1. Haha I have a somewhat daunting TBR as well but I’ve managed to talk myself into only buying like half of them and writing the rest down so that I don’t lose my office under a pile of books. Also I did nottt know that about Caraval and have been thinking about picking it up…the mention of trigger warnings makes me wonder…

    Like

  2. YES! My TBR never stops. And! I just acquired 25 more books from my favorite book sale and thennn when I said to myself, “Erika, you need to only borrow one book from the library each month. That way you are supporting the library but may have a chance to actually get to allllll those NetGalley books and you know the millions you have stacked around the room,” I promptly borrowed 3 more and then requested 2 more. The two I requested include a giant bind up because Dominic Monoghan said so via Instagram and I love him and fantasy reads and I mean, he was a Hobbit afterall. Who better to suggest a fantasy read?
    Also! (this is a giant comment) I DNF’d The Paper Magician because I was getting confused and uninterested about 100 pages in. AND! I have heard sooo much about When Dimple Met Rishi I am going to have to grab that up. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

