CAKE FLAVORED BOOKS TAG

HAPPY BIRTHDAY Miss Pond!!!

My house is nothing but cake, balloons, and super heroines today! This tag is a must.

The #CakeFlavoredBooks tag was created on Bookstagram and adapted for the blogosphere by Paper Fury.

Original:

  1. CHOCOLATE CAKE (a dark book you absolutely love)
  2. VANILLA CAKE (a light read)
  3. RED VELVET (a book that gave you mixed emotions)
  4. CHEESECAKE (a book you would recommend to anyone)
  5. COFFEE CAKE (a book you started but never finished)
  6. CARROT CAKE (a book with great writing)

Made by Cait:

  1. TIRAMISU (book that left you wanting more)
  2. CUPCAKES (series with 4+ books)
  3. FRUIT CAKE (book that wasn’t what you anticipated)
  4. LAMINGTON (favourite Australian books)

Okay. But no.

I am unhappy with these prompts. Like… mixed emotions on red velvet? EXCUSE ME, but that’s the best cake ever invented, especially what topped with buttercream instead of that disgusting cream cheese frosting. Red velvet buttercream was my wedding cake, alright?

And and and… AND. Recommending cheesecake? Ew ew ew ew ew ew ew. E.W. No.

Aaaaaand carrot cake = great writing?! Hashtag NOPE. How dare this tag imply that carrot cake is great! *shudders*

Soooo. I’m gonna mix and match and create my own cake prompts because I clearly disagree with this nonsense. You’ve got the originals listed above so you can join in too, but I just… I can’t. My taste in cake is different than yours, so I do what I want.
IMG_2064

 

CHOCOLATE CAKE – a dark book

Notice that I totally demolished the “you absolutely love” part, because… nope. I can hardly finish a slice of chocolate cake. It’s just too… chocolatey.

And now, I bet you’re expecting me to say Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab, but you’d be WRONG *muahahahahahahaha*

Actually, the most recent dark book that I read was The Merciless by Danielle Vega. Oh. My. Gosh. So. Much. Blood. And just like a giant slice of chocolate cake, I cannot believe I let myself finish that! I’m not a scaredy cat, what do you mean?

VANILLA CAKE – a light read

Because it’s absolutely appropriate for this tag, go read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. It’s the cutest, fluffiest little book I’ve every read, and Lara Jean is a baker!

And surprisingly, vanilla cake is preferred over chocolate for me, so yeah.

RED VELVET – a book you recommend to anyone

Here is it, everybody. The Schwab insert. That’s right:

A Darker Shade of Magic

You knew it was coming. And even though I know that urban fantasy red velvet isn’t for everyone, if you are a fan, why haven’t you read this yet?!

CHEESECAKE – a book you dislike that everyone loves

I’ll say this for the rest of my life, but Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I’ve said this before, but here’s something I’d like to add: Stephanie’s writing was wonderful. And I do want to read what she writes after this series is over. But the elements that make up this story did not sit well with me and I wouldn’t recommend it.

THEMED BIRTHDAY CAKE – a book that was made for you

OH MY GOSH. Friends, I just stayed up until 4:30am the other night to finish Geekerella by Ashley Poston. Why did none of you recommend this book sooner? Aren’t we all geeks here? I related to this book so, so much that I’m actually planning to write a full review for it. Yes. Me. A full review. *heart eyes*

COFFEE CAKE – a book that made you fall apart

The Sobbing King. Oh, no wait. I mean The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner.

Also, please tell me that the rest of you know what a coffee crumble cake is? Because it seems like not enough people of heard of this book either. Get on it people! You’ll be destroyed, but you’ll love it!

CARROT CAKE – a book you regret reading

Meh. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. It put me in a massive reading slump. I finished 13 Reasons on March 25th and didn’t complete another book until June 9th. All that reading time wasted!

CUPCAKES – a book series with 4+ books

I’m gonna go with A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket for this one. Because a batch of cupcakes are all short and seem to resemble one another. Plus, this series would straight up be a baker’s dozen so we gotta stick to the theme, yes?

FRUIT CAKE – a classic that surprised you

I was really surprised by The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. It was my first Oscar Wilde story and I didn’t know what to expect. But I ended up hating Dorian with a passion. An intense fiery flame of hatred, okay? He could have burned in a furnace and his hard heart would have stayed behind because he’s as worthless and hard as a rock…. Oh wait. Wait. Dorian Gray, not the fruit cake. Right. Um… Yeah. So Dorian Gray surprised me. I wasn’t expecting to feel so much towards a classic.

MARBLE CAKE – a book that gave you mixed emotions

Get it? Because a marble cake is LITERALLY a mixture? Yeah. My prompts are cooler.

For this prompt, I’m gonna go with Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken. The novel was just too slow for me, I guess. I almost DNFed it a few times, but….. Nicholas Carter. I seriously finished this book just for him. I may have even ordered a candle that smells like him. Twice.


Did you like the way I changed the prompts? Are you mad at me for it? Let me know your cake preferences in the comments!

And that’s all! I’m off to celebrate with my little 4 year old and figure out what kind of cake she wants to bake today.

signature

10 thoughts on “CAKE FLAVORED BOOKS TAG

  1. Geekerella is EVERYTHING ! I’ve also read and loved Starflight by Melissa Landers, you should give it a try. And if you’re into retellings/movies, I ADORED Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennet !

    Like

  2. Have to be honest, I’m not much of a fan of Red Velvet Cake, but I do agree “mixed emotions” isn’t quite right. Maybe “A book that looks great”? It’s definitely got a distinctive look.

    Like

  3. Happy birthday to your small one!! And I feel like this tag is going to be like that game where you have to whisper phrases to people and it gets all distorted and changed along the way.😂😂

    HEY BUT CHEESECAKE IS LIFE SO WE’RE GOING TO HAVE TO AGREE TO DISAGREE THERE.

    And so falling apart after The Serpent King.❤️💔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the birthday wishes!
      And honestly, I WANT people to keep changing it, how fun would that be?!

      And yes. Agree to disagree! That means I’ll trade you all the cheesecake for all the vanilla and it’ll be glorious!

      Like

  4. I make an excellent red velvet cake if I do say so myself. My favorite is my oreo red velvet with oreo crème frosting. soooooo yummy and perty to boot. and OMG coffee crumble cake is deeeeelicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

