Classic Fridays: 2016 Debuts

Hi, friends!

As a new blogger, I went to my Twitter feed and asked which bookish memes would be fun to join. Right away, I was pointed towards Classic Fridays, a weekly meme created by the wonderful Team Gray members of BBCP (Book Blogger Creativity Project). As a brand new meme, I’ve only missed the first two weeks, so I’m excited to jump right in to week three. If you’re interested in joining too, the official form is here.

Buckle your seat belts, cause here we go!

What are your top 5 favorite debuts of 2016 (so far)?

Upon diving into my completed books of the year, I realize that I’ve literally only read two 2016 debuts:

  • The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
  • This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Which 2016 debuts where you highly anticipating but have not read yet?

All of them. Okay? All of them. Especially since I own three of these:

  • Everland by Wendy Spinale
  • A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
  • Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
  • The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry
  • Inherited (The Curses of VIII) by Freedom Matthews
  • Flawed by Cecelia Ahern
  • Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

If you had a free pass ticket to 3 debut bookish worlds, which ones would you like to visit the most?

Well, from what I know, I’d like to visit the worlds of Everland, Rebel of the Sands, and The Love that Split the World. Basically magic and sci-fi.

Favorite debut book boyfriend and why?

Even as a teen, I never read books and thought, “oh, he should be my boyfriend!” I normally just read a book and thought, “oh, he could be my platonic BFF for life!” So, I’ll answer this question the way teenage Dominique would answer:

Travis Bohannon (The Serpent King) and I could 100% hang out all day, every day, and we’d do nothing but gush about books and dress up like elves together. It would be glorious!

Favorite cover of a debut author

28962906

Normally, I don’t like covers with people on them. Or, I suppose I used to not like them, because the cover of Stalking Jack the Ripper is just so gorgeous. I mean, do you see the way she’s holding that knife? Oh my word, I need to read this yesterday. For real, though.

Who is your most favorite character from a debut novel?

Well, since I’ve only actually read two debut books this year (so far!), I’m gonna have to use Travis as my answer again. But I don’t do so grudgingly. Travis is awesome!


Next are some questions about the latest debut book I read, which was This is Where it Ends.

What made you pick this book up?24529123

The synopsis along with the cover’s photograph gave me chills, and I was in the mood for a dark story at the time.

How did you hear about the book?

I saw it floating around on bookstagram when it released.

What genre was the book? Is it something that you normally read?

This book is YA realistic fiction, which is typically not my go-to genre. I prefer to escape reality when I read. Though I will say that I loved the realistic fiction of The Serpent King, and it’s now one of my favorite books!

Would you read more books by this author? Why or why not?

For now, I’m going to say that I’m not likely to read more books by Marieke, unless the plot is absolutely intriguing to me. Realistic fiction normally isn’t my jam, and while this book was a thought provoking page turner, it wasn’t a typical read for me.


And that’s all of this week’s Classic Friday questions! So how did I do, friends? Not too bad for my first meme, huh? I could be getting used to this blogging thing!

Off to go adventuring, Dominique

One thought on “Classic Fridays: 2016 Debuts

Leave a comment