#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Hey there, friends! Welcome to the bare bones of my blog, and my first post ever!

My name is Dominique, and I’m a huge procrastinator. I’ve been sitting on this blog for months, even though I post frequently on bookstagram and daily on twitter. So what, you might ask, has finally motivated me to create my book blog? Why, none other than a competition!

Well, actually, it’s a readathon (hosted by Aentee of Read at Midnight), BUT it’s also a way to collect points, level up, evolve, and potentially win by the end. Not to mention a throwback to the 90s. So what is it? It’s the The Pokemon Indigo League #ReadThemAllThon! I’m so excited about this! Find all the official details here.

First things first! I need to choose a Pokémon. So, without further ado:

Chimchar! I choose you!

BlogChimchar
Fire Monkey!

Throughout the readathon (which takes place August 14th through September 4th), Chimchar will earn +1CP for every ten pages I read. Once he reaches 150CP, he’ll evolve into Monferno, and then into Infernape at 400CP. Chimchar is only at 10CP right now, so I need to get my read on!


For the second order of training, I need to chose the books for my #ReadThemAllThon TBR pile. There’s eight gyms in the Indigo League, and you better believe I’m gonna try to earn all of those badges!

blog1

Alright, Maze Runner, I will read you. I will. I happen to own every book that’s out so far in the series, and I’ve even read the first 72 pages of The Maze Runner, yet my self-proclaimed “non-reader” husband has finished the book before me. Granted, it is his book, but still. I’m the reader, not him!

374 pages, 72 already read, potential +30CP

blog2

I’m calling it now, Wonder is going to make me cry. It’s just gonna happen. I’m a mom now (three years in!) and nothing makes me sob like a baby than things designed for children. No, really, I was sitting on my couch sobbing during an episode of My Little Pony last week.

313 pages, potential +31CP

blog3

Alright, so I’m not too big on hyped up and popular books. But when your best friend is a tough critic and has been telling you to read Fangirl for years, you should probably listen at some point. I hear you, Debs. I hear you.

433 pages, potential +43CP

blog4

Boys, kissing. It’s literally the only thing I know about Carry On. Let’s do this! This will be the very first book I read that involves a gay love story, which actually isn’t surprising when you learn that I typically avoid romance altogether. I normally have to brace myself before entering a romance novel, but this one promises monsters, so I’m totally ready to jump in!

517 pages, potential +51CP

blog5

Ugh. Here it is. Romance on purpose. Well, I’m in it to win it, so I might as well read one. To earn this badge, I’ve chosen Eleanor & Park (somehow, my third Rainbow Rowell book in a row, yet I’ve never read her books before. Let’s hope I enjoy her writing!) This story found it’s way onto my TBR because this month’s OwlCrate theme is Fast Times at YA High and they’ve promised an item inspired by E&P. I don’t want to be clueless when I get it. (ps, not sponsored. I just like throwing my money at book stuff)

325 pages, potential +32CP

blog6

Oh, I am so so so excited to jump into Vicious! At her release party for This Savage Song, someone asked Victoria Schwab to briefly sum up each of her books. I’m paraphrasing, but for Vicious she said, “two scientists create their own super humans and it doesn’t go well.” Oh, Victoria, I am so here for this!

340 pages, potential +34CP

blog7

Honestly, the cover of this book is not completely red, but the title is, so I’m going to read Scarlet to earn this badge. I can’t wait to dive back into the Lunar Chronicles! *heart eyes*

452 pages, potential +45CP

blog8

This is it! The last one. I’ll be closing off with the final book of a series: Allegiant. I haven’t heard wonderful things, but this is yet another book my “non-reader” husband has read without me, and I just can’t have that.

526 pages, potential +52CP

IMG_2688
#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Whew! That’s an awful lot of reading in only three weeks. Normally, it wouldn’t be a problem, but did I mention that I’m planning on packing/moving during this readathon? Shoot. Anything for the love of competition, I guess. After all, I want to be the very best!

Talk soon, Dominique

14 thoughts on “#ReadThemAllThon TBR

  1. OOOO WHAT A GREAT LIST. I have literally read all of these except for Vicious, and they are all amazing! (although I have read A Darker Shade of Magic, so I can say her writing is amazing!) Good luck, and welcome to the blogosphere! 🙂 I have a good feeling about you. *clicks follow button*
    -Amy

    Like

    1. Hearing that these are all amazing is super encouraging. That means it’s less likely for me to hit a reading slump, and nobody likes that!
      And, oh boy, I love her writing! I’ve read A Darker Shade of Magic, A Gathering of Shadows, and This Savage Song from her. (And I may also own ten of her eleven published books, lol).
      Finally, thank you! You are so sweet for saying that. I followed you back because your blog is gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so cool! I’ve never heard of it before, but now I kind of want to join!

    Also this is @hollieohs_bookreviews from Instagram, I just started my own blog and would appreciate it so much if you checked it out 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds like a great list of books. I really hope you enjoy the readathon, I’m finding it a great motivation to work through some of my TBR list.

    Like

Leave a comment